Is an M1 Max complete overkill for photography?

mollyc

seeker of light
Site Donor
Reaction score
Main Camera
Fujifilm
I am primarily a stills photographer. I do a little bit of video work for some classes I teach, but I edit those in iMovie only and then compress in handbrake. I currently use a 27" 2017 i7 iMac, and my husband told me yesterday I can get a new computer as a mother's day present. I've been wanting a regular M1 Pro MBP, but with supply chain issues, I am thinking I will get a base model M1 Max sooner.

I currently have 40GB ram and a 1TB SSD in my iMac, so I would spec 32GB ram and also a 1TB hard drive in a laptop; if I choose the Max, that's a standard configuration. I really don't think that I need the Max, but the wait times are a couple of weeks shorter if I go for a base model vs custom. Other than price, is there an inherent disadvantage to me if I get the Max?

Last edited:

Cmaier

Site Master
Staff Member
Site Donor
Reaction score
There is no inherent disadvantage other than price. Max probably has only a slight advantage for apps like photoshop CC or lightroom, other than maybe for filters, but since I have a max and no pro to compare it to, I am not sure. Long term, max should have better resale/trade-in value, so the price difference may be compensated for somewhat. Battery life and heat are likely not going to be much different.

Renzatic

Egg Nog King of the Eastern Seaboard
Reaction score
Other than price, is there an inherent disadvantage to me if I get the Max?

Much like RAM, there's no such thing as too much GPU and processing power. Even if you're not regularly taking advantage of your computer to it's fullest extent, it's still there for you on those rare occasions that you might, and provides you a slight buffer of future proofing.

So if price isn't a concern, there's no disadvantage.

Eric

Mama's lil stinker
Reaction score
Instagram
Main Camera
Sony