Professional Cameras vs iPhone

Eric

Mama's lil stinker
Top Poster Of Month
Solutions
Main Camera
Sony
Instagram
I have to be honest that in many situations the iPhone is both easier to use and produces as good or better results than my $5K camera/lens setup. I get that there's a learning curve with professional cameras and in the end when things are both shot and edited properly you can get professional looking results, but the lines are getting blurred.

I have taken to filming with both when I'm shooting, both to ensure that I have redundant footage and the "just in case factor", that way if I hose it up on my professional camera, I'm at least guaranteed decent results from the iPhone.

I do the same. While I'm not a pro photographer, I pay more attention to details than most casual shooters. My DSLR can do more than my iPhone, but the added weight and effort are often not worth it. With the camera, I often end up fiddling with settings and sometimes miss a shot, but the phone is almost always in my shirt pocket and ready to go, and the results are usually quite good.

I'm thinking my next camera purchase may be a dual-lens model that can take immersive movies to watch on the Apple Vision Pro. The iPhone 15 and 16 Pro can shoot spatial video, but the lenses are too close together to achieve the desired effect. The AVP has become my go-to device for looking at stills and video. visionOS 2.0 does a good job converting old photos to spatial, and it's amazing for looking at panoramas. Even though they're 2D, the experience is like being there. (Sorry to go off-topic, but I don't think the AVP gets the credit it deserves for this.)

I've been shooting with iPhones pretty much exclusively for the last 7 years or so. They're great for the kind of photos I like to make - mostly of strangers I like to hit up on the street for a bit of conversation and a few posed portraits.